Radio Astronomy Section

The Radio Astronomy Section is over 30 years old and conducts regular monthly meetings at the Society`s clubrooms on the third Monday night of the month at 8pm. These meetings have an average attendance of 8. Members show strong interests in Radio Astronomy, electronics, computing, RF instrumentation, Cosmology, Geomagnetism, the SKA and all things Astronomical!

Syllabus items have included the following topics:

The section has provided guest speakers to present Radio Astronomy topics to Monash University, ASV Monthly Meeting, the LaTrobe Valley Astronomical Society, the Eastern and Mountain District Radio Club, Moorabbin Amateur Radio Club, The North East Radio Group, the Gippsland Gate Radio and Electronics Club, the Astronomical Society of Bendigo, a presentation at the 2011 and 2013 VASTROC conventions and in August 2013 at ITEE Engineers Australia.

For over 20 years Russell Ward VK3DRW has conducted the ASV Astronomy radio Broadcast on the 80 meter Amateur Radio Band on a frequency of 3541KHz every Friday night at 10 pm covering most of Australia using the society's radio callsign VK3EKH. In 2009 Russell handed the microphone over to Clint Jeffrey (VK3CSJ) and continues to run the station from the studios at Narre Warren South. Information about the Station can be found at

Projects undertaken by the section have included:

Long Term Projects

All observations by our Radio Observatory are displayed on the Leon Mow Radio Observatory pages.

Robert Arrowsmith - Section Director.

You can email Robert at