About the ASV

ASV logoThe ASV is a non-profit society for people interested in Astronomy, attracting and catering for people from a wide range of ages and backgrounds, abilities and interests. First formed in 1922 the society has grown to a membership over 700 people. Its activities are coordinated by a council of elected Office Bearers, Section Directors, and ordinary Councillors.

The ASV has weekly activities at the ASV Lodge and a Monthly Meeting at the Herbarium near the Old Melbourne Observatory. The society's library is also located at the Old Melbourne Observatory and is open during Monthly Meeting times. For over 50 years the ASV has played a major role in the care of buildings and facilities at the Old Melbourne Observatory.

Our members conduct Astronomy for the People gatherings throughout the year, bringing telescopes and astronomy to Melbourne's parks and schools. Please check the calendar for details if you are interested in attending one of these events.

The Leon Mow Dark Sky Site, located north of Melbourne, has a pristine night sky for deep sky observing. The ASV has a 25-inch telescope at the Leon Mow Dark Sky Site and a 20-inch telescope at the ASV Lodge.Crux

An annual Yearbook is supplied to members as well as a bimonthly newsletter (members only) which all members are welcome to contribute to. 

The ASV's logo shows the Southern Cross and Pointer stars. Its Motto is "Sic itur ad astra" which is translated as "this way to the stars".


ASV is governed by a Constitution which should be read before applying for membership. This document may downloaded by clicking here.

Past Presidents

Year President Year President
1922-25 C.J. Merfield* 1964-66 F.P. Owen*
1926 J.D. Michie* 1967-68 J.L. Perdrix*
1927 P.H. Johson* 1969 J.B. Trainor*
1928-33 J. A. Moroney* 1970 G.A. Duncan*
1934 G. H. Woodhouse* 1971-72 T.B. Tregaskis*
1935-41 J.A. Moroney* 1973-74 A.E. Coombs
1942-44 J.F. Skjellerup* 1975 A.L. Le Marquand*
1945 J.C. Hewitson* 1976 T.B. Tregaskis*
1946 W.N. Brook* 1977-78 R.J.C. Lawrence*
1947 J.G. Evans* 1979-80 B.S. Adcock
1948 L.T. Whitney * 1981-83 D.H. Walker *
1949 V.W. Straford* 1984-85 B.J. Poppleton*
1950 R.G. Gilmour* 1986-87 D.W. Orchiston
1951 A.W. Walker* 1988-89 K.McK. Harrison
1952 H. Byrt* 1990-91 J.L. Park
1953 J.R. Carroll* 1992-93 C.C. Hyde *
1953 J.C. Hewitson* 1994-95 S.D. Pattie
1954 W.N. Brook* 1996-98 P. Vlahos
1955 J.P. Hamilton* 1999 T.J. Richards
1956 E.L. James* 2000 R.B. Davis
1957 W.G.H. Tregear* 2001-03 P. Vlahos
1958 L.R. Whitby* 2004-05 B.J. Cleland
1959 K.W. Murphy 2006-07 B.S. Adcock
1960-61 J.L. Perdrix* 2008-09 P. Vlahos
1962 L.R. Whitby* 2010-11 B.S. Adcock
1963 W.G.H. Tregear* 2012 K. J. Le Marquand

Note: the dates above indicate the calendar year in which the presidents were elected.

Honorary Life Members

Mr B.S. Adcock Mrs J Mitchell Mr I Sullivan
Mr K Beard Mr S.D. Pattie Mr J.B. Trainor *
Mr W Bradfield * Mr N Plever Mr T B Tregaskis *
Mr R Brown Mr J Pollock Mr D.H. Walker *
Mr A Cavill Dr B.J. Poppleton * Mr R Ward
Dr B Clark Dr A Prentice Mr J White
Mr E Gainsford Mrs G Racine Mr L.T. Whitney *

* Deceased